Warrants Office Information
224 East Kiowa Street, Room 108
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Phone: (719) 385-6153
Bench warrants are court orders submitted to the police to arrest someone and place them in custody until the court reconvenes. The Municipal Court sends notification letters to people for whom judges have issued bench warrants. Municipal Court warrants are issued for the following reasons: failure to appear in court on a scheduled court date as promised in writing or non-compliance with other orders of the court. The judge issuing the warrant will set a dollar amount for bail (bond). Bond must be posted in the amount of the bail in order to secure a release from custody. In addition to the bail amount set by the judge, a $40 warrant service fee is imposed on each warrant issued.
There may be outstanding arrest warrants for those who have missed their court appearance dates. Bail amounts and other information may be obtained by calling the court at (719) 385-6153 or by email at Municipal.Court@coloradosprings.gov.
Resolving a Warrant
To resolve a warrant, you should appear before a clerk in Room 108 of the Municipal Court Building at 224 East Kiowa Street during normal business hours (Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM). If you are under the age of 18, your parent or legal guardian must accompany you.
Bail set at $200 or less
If the bail amount on the warrant has been set at $200 or less, release may be secured by arranging for a new court appearance date.
Bail greater than $200
If bail has been set at an amount greater than $200, a bond must be posted to secure release from custody. This bond may be posted in the following ways:
1) By posting the full amount in cash, either by the defendant or another person (which is either applied against any future fine imposed by the court or returned in full if all subsequent court appearances and obligations are met).
2) Through the services of a commercial surety bail bonding agency.
In the second method, the bail bondsman secures the release of a person from custody and pledges to assure their future appearance before the court. In return, a non-refundable premium is paid to the bail bondsman. The contract between an individual and their bail bondsman is a private matter and not subject to the control of the Court. A list of licensed bail bonding agents is available in the telephone directory.
Outstanding Judgment Warrant (OJW) & License Revocation
Colorado law requires this Court to notify the Motor Vehicle Division of the Department of Revenue (DMV) when a bench warrant is issued for your failure to appear for a traffic ticket (or any type of offense if you are less than 18 years of age). In this instance, DMV will begin the process to revoke a Colorado driver's license. The law imposes a $30 fee in addition to any other warrant fees and costs that might apply. If you are licensed to drive by another state, the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles will initiate license revocation proceedings in most states.